Weekend Open Thread   5 comments

I won’t be trading today, so here is the weekend open thread a little early. Feel free to discuss any topic you like.

As for me, I offer you the musical question: What do Neil Young and Kid Rock have in common? The answer is Lynyrd Skynyrd’s Sweet Home Alabama.

Personally, I am not a fan of Neil Young. But two of his songs, Alabama and Southern Man, helped inspire a lyrical reply from Lynyrd Skynyrd:

These earned Young this response from Lynyrd Skynyrd:

Well, I heard Mister Young sing about her
Well, I heard ole Neil put her down
Well, I hope Neil Young will remember
A Southern man don’t need him around anyhow

As for Kid Rock, his connection to Sweet Home Alabama (as well as Warren Zevon’s Werewolves of London) is painfully obvious:

Finally, Sweet Home Alabama, performed live in 1977 (just months before lead singer Ronnie Van Zant and guitarist Steve Gaines were killed in a plane crash):

Sweet Home Alabama is a perfect example of rock music: great guitar work, a catchy tune, and emotion-driven lyrics. Even people who aren’t from the South can pick up on the emotion from the song, even if they don’t share the sentiments (Kid Rock’s All Summer Long is a good example of this, since Rock is from Michigan).

An ironic note: None of the three writers of Sweet Home Alabama were from Alabama (two were from Florida, one was from California).

Enjoy your weekend folks!

Posted August 2, 2013 by edmcgon in Music, Open Thread

5 responses to “Weekend Open Thread

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I took 25% of my money out of stocks in my fidelity 401k. I left my investment elections in the risky stuff. My 401k is up 24.7% this year. The person I spoke with said there isn’t a time frame of moving around money nor fees.

  2. Ed, I never thought of myself as a Neil Young fan but one day I woke up to the fact I had nine Neil Young CDs/albums which put him in the top 10 of my collection (Rolling Stones 21 CDs is number 1). I think Young plays his guitars better than he sings but it is his writing that shines the brightest on his albums. Number one song in my mind is “The Needle & the Damage Done”. Favorite albums are (in no order) Rust Never Sleeps, Harvest, and After the Gold Rush.

  3. A couple of nights ago we watched the CD: T.A.M.I. Show. What a cast: James Brown & the Flames — this man was pure entertainment, am not a big fan of his CDs but anytime you get a chance to watch him perform you have to make time for James Brown, The Rolling Stones who had to follow Brown and close the show and doing some quick math I believe Mick was 21 years old at this time, the Beach Boys, Gerry & The Pacemakers, The Supremes — Diana Ross had to be wearing a wig, she reminded me of Carmen Miranda with her fruit hat on top of her head but instead of fruit Diane had hair piled up higher than I have ever seen on any women, Jan and Dean, Marvin Gaye wearing what reminded me as bull fighter costume and damn he looked sharp in it, Chuck Berry, and more. If you haven’t watch this performance I recommend finding the CD (Netflicks for us) and giving yourself 2 hours of total enjoyment.

Leave a Reply

