Sell Smith & Wesson (SWHC)   8 comments

I decided to sell Smith & Wesson (SWHC), but not because there is anything wrong with the stock. This is a portfolio move, because I have too many stocks (13 in both my 401k and my IRA). SWHC was a small position, for which I had a decent profit. There is no point distracting myself with it, so it was time to take the money and run. I sold it at $11.20. Here is the final line on it:

SWHC: -0.18 today, +0.60 overall to $11.20 (-1.58% today, +5.66% overall)–bought at $10.60

Posted November 7, 2013 by edmcgon in Portfolio Moves

8 responses to “Sell Smith & Wesson (SWHC)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just for comparison, I have 27 active positions – 21 with profits and 6 with losses. My most profitable positions are Ecolab-ECL) (150% gain) and Black Hills(BKH) (96% gain). I have owned both for several years and reinvest the dividends in both companies. Combined, they are 7% of my total stock holdings. My two largest loss positions are LaynChristensen(LAYN) down 25% and Linn Energy(LINE) down 17% – combined 2.7% of my holdings. I am comfortable holding all 27 positions, winners and those that are presently losers. I have no keeping up to date with all of them, and searching for potential buys. My most recent purchases are F, T, NCR and GE. I am a long term holder of Microsoft, Intel, and Cisco. Chicago Bridge and Iron is also one of my profitable holdings and one of my favorite stocks. I am not a trader. One of my favorite sources of investment information is Barrons. I subscribe to the Motley Fool but don’t rely on them much for investment choices. I enjoy reading some of the Seeking Alph contributors but realize that many of them don’t know any more than I do. CNBC is pretty much a waste of time.

    • Jim,
      Different strokes. I’m just not comfortable with a portfolio I am not watching.

    • I like Jeff Miller’s weekly “weighing the week ahead” column in seeking alpha and I subscribe to both Jim Jubak and Anthony Mihradari’s blogs.

      I also like Bloomberg’s weekly magazine.

      What other sources do people find valuable??

      • I would add Barry Ritholtz’s “The Big Picture” and Dave’s Daily at ETF Digest to the ones already listed.

      • Jeff – I read decision moose for directional purposes. I read Barron’s. Then I spend a lot of time with my stock screeners that I derived based upon Joel Greenblatts book, “The Little Book That Beats The Stock Market”.

      • Never read Ritholz before so I’ll take a look.

        I have read Joel Greenblatt and I have used his screener to ID some stocks. I like the simplicity of his concept and I know Marshall that you value his principles in picking and holding your stocks as well. I’m gong to take another look to see if I can improve in my investing discipline.

  2. You are definitely right about different strokes. I have been your comments and blogs from the days when you were active on Jim Jubaks forum and have’t commented because I realize my approach is different from most of those here. I suspect I watch my portfolio as closely as you do yours, I just don’t trade often and I am definitely not a market timer. I have made plenty of mistakes though, I just try to understand them, learn from them, and not repeat them. Barry Ritholtz is a great source of good advice and philosophy. He had a good column in this past Sunday’s Washington Post. Here is a link to it:
    http://www.washingtonpost.com/business/reduce-the-noise-levels-in-your-investment-process/2013/10/31/69441cc0-3e93-11e3-b6a9-da62c264f40e_story.html

    • Jim,
      I welcome those with different approaches. Take Trader, for example, who has a much different approach than I do. You strike me as a “buy and hold” type, and that is perfectly fine. Like with any investment style, as long as you do it correctly, it can work.

      Ritholtz usually posts links on Big Picture to his WP columns, and now his Bloomberg columns, so I read all of them. I don’t agree with everything he says, but he is good at supporting his views. Basically, he makes me think.

Leave a Reply

