Weekend Open Thread   6 comments

Welcome to another weekend open thread, where you may discuss any topic you like!

For my part, I would like to offer you a song I recently heard for the first time. A little background: I was listening to Welcome to Nightvale (which my daughter recently recommended to me). I usually listen to it at night in bed, and I usually fall asleep before the musical segment (better known as “the weather”) comes on. However, one episode featured a song called Sni Bong, by a band named Dengue Fever. When that song came on, it grabbed my ear and wouldn’t let go, forcing me to wake up and listen to the entire song. Here is the video for your entertainment:

Dengue Fever, according to their wiki, “is a six-member band from Los Angeles who combine Cambodian pop music and lyrics with psychedelic rock.” I have to confess to a shameful ignorance about Cambodian pop music, but I like Sni Bong, which allegedly translates from Khmer as “love you” (according to the blogger Super Gangster). The song has a 60’s-70’s sound, with a hint of Asian exotic.

That’s all for this week folks! Enjoy your three-day weekend, and I will see you back here on Tuesday!

PORTFOLIO UPDATE: My portfolio finished the day up 0.54%.

Posted November 8, 2013 by edmcgon in Music, Open Thread

6 responses to “Weekend Open Thread

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Interesting and different, but not for me.

  2. Dengue Fever is a BAD disease. The song is a little better.

  3. Could we be seeing a Samsung ADR in the U.S. soon?

    http://www.nytimes.com/2013/11/07/technology/samsung-unveils-bolder-investment-plan.html?src=recg

    Now THAT would be an IPO!

  4. Don’t get too attached to Facebook or Twitter:

    http://www.theguardian.com/technology/2013/nov/10/teenagers-messenger-apps-facebook-exodus

    Clearly, social media is becoming a very competitive industry in itself, especially for young people. I’d avoid it for now.

Leave a Reply

