Update: Microsoft (MSFT)   7 comments

At the moment, Microsoft (MSFT) is trading just above the top of it’s recent trading range. I have been toying with moving it over to my 401(k) account, and this is a perfect time to sell it from my IRA. I sold it today for $38.18, although I do plan to buy it again on a good dip, so it will remain on my watchlist. Here is the final line on it:

MSFT: +0.18 today, +4.73 overall to $38.18 (+0.47% today, +14.14% overall)–bought at $33.45

Posted December 6, 2013 by edmcgon in 401(k), Portfolio Moves

7 responses to “Update: Microsoft (MSFT)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice one Ed. I’m just not a fan. The only thing I do like about MSFT is their Xbox. Especially regarding the internet/entertainment functionality as part of the family TV. Smart move trying to become an integral part of people’s living room

    • Thanks Jeff. I see MSFT as a must-own for any dividend portfolio, although I would like to add it a little cheaper than it’s current price.

      • Very nice buy and sell.

        Why is this such a must-own dividend portfolio stock?

      • Latetom,
        3% dividend yield. 34% payout ratio. 5 dividend increases in the last 5 years, with increases going back 7 years. Rock-solid financials with almost $80 billion in cash, and over $18 billion in levered free cash flow. Microsoft is text book perfection for a dividend stock.

      • Good answer. I usually am looking for a dividend of 4 to 5% and have taken chances on those over 10%. Should you decide to buy back into MSFT I may follow you.

  2. I own Microsoft and have no intention of selling it any time soon. The dividends just buy more stock. I believe the company has great potential for future growth in all of its areas of business – including mobile devices. And what is the difference between owning it in a 401-k plan or an I.R.A. account?

    • crabby jim,
      Technically, not a whole heck of a lot. Personally, I prefer keeping my dividend stocks in my 401(k), because it is easier to automate the dividends to stock shares. It is mainly a Fidelity versus Interactive Brokers thing.

Leave a Reply

