Buy GW Pharmaceuticals (GWPH)   7 comments

After much research (ok, I started yesterday) into the marijuana business, I decided the way to go, for the moment, was in the marijuana pharmaceuticals direction, mainly because I found a company with outstanding promise: GW Pharmaceuticals (GWPH).

They already have one cannabis-based drug, called Sativex, which is approved in the U.K. for MS spasticity, and is in phase 2 trials in the U.S. Sativex is also in phase 3 trials in both the U.S. and U.K. for cancer pain treatment, which I would expect to be a slam dunk. Finally, Sativex is in phase 2 trials in the U.K. for neuropathic pain.

In addition to Sativex, GW also has other pipeline drugs for type 2 diabetes, ulcerative colitis, schizophrenia, epilepsy, and glioma.

While GW’s financials aren’t golden, they do show potential. Considering how the political landscape in the U.S. hasn’t been conducive to anything related to marijuana until this past year, I would say GW is perfectly positioned to take advantage of this change.

I will update here after I have bought it today.

UPDATE 9:36 am EST: I added GWPH to my IRA at $32.95.

Posted December 18, 2013 by edmcgon in Portfolio Moves, Stocks

7 responses to “Buy GW Pharmaceuticals (GWPH)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ed you should have stuck with Pvct instead.

  2. Why did I think you had sold out of pvct?
    What do you think of the press real ease today by them?

    • I did lower my position, but I didn’t liquidate it. I had added more to lower my dollar cost average, and then sold some once I could sell it at a profit.

      As for the press release, we won’t know whether it is good or bad (or neither) until the FDA releases the meeting minutes in January.

  3. Welcome aboard, dude! For what it’s worth, I think you picked the best science MJ stock. As for the recreational MJ onesโ€ฆ I know you and I disagree re Walmart, et al, but consider this:

    Hubby and I were talking to some friends last night and I brought this up because of all the discussion on your blog re MJ stocks. We’re all 50-60 something baby boomers, all smoked some weed in college, but were definitely not stoners and not even that into it. None of us has smoked very much, if at all, in decades, either due to having kids or it’s just not worth taking the chance on ruining our careers with the potential legal ramifications. But, we all agreed that when it becomes legal in our state, we want to grow it. Just a little for personal use and to share with friends, but being completely honest mainly b/c it’s not often we get the chance to do something kinda hip and kinda edgy. We think it will be FUN to experiment with strains, etc. We all garden a little (me very little) but it’s just another herb to grow. We are envisioning going into nice, upscale MJ stores (similar to how Whole Foods compares to King Soopers) and learning about growing, seeds, etc from knowledgeable, helpful staff, even taking some classes. Very far from the head shops of our youth. Believe me, if people like us who haven’t ever really been that in to pot feel this way, there are a whole lotta others out there.

    Just a thought.

    • QD,
      I should point out there will probably be some mom-and-pop stores like you describe. Will PHOT even be around to compete against them? Who knows? At this point in time, there are more than a few companies like PHOT out there.

      But if the big chain stores decide to go into the business, the up and comers are dead. For example, Home Depot has $4.8 billion in cash, whereas PHOT’s entire balance sheet can’t approach that. And I can picture the “How to grow marijuana” classes at Home Depot. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

