Traders Corner   13 comments

Bear

The S&P 500’s Bollinger Bands keep tightening, as it seems to be trading in a tighter range between the 20 day moving average and the all-time high. Unfortunately, a rising wedge is generally a bearish chart pattern. You can see it more clearly on the SPY chart (from Finviz):

SPY

At this point, I have to turn bearish and quit buying. In addition, I plan to start selling some of my profitable trades here.

The S&P 500 levels to watch today:

UPSIDE: 1849-1850 (January 21st’s high, December’s high and the all-time high), and 1852 (top of the Bollinger Bands).
LAST CLOSE: 1844, inside the 1843-1847 (7 data points) range.
DOWNSIDE: 1837-1840 (7 data points and the 20 day moving average), 1835 (January 17th’s low), 1827-1832 (7 data points), and 1823 (January 6th’s low and the bottom of the Bollinger Bands).

13 responses to “Traders Corner

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, chinese stocks are tanking.. once again, my ctrp is taking a beating.

  2. Bought PRAN this morning at 8.31. Not for the faint of heart. Feb call premiums are huge. Not selling calls yet but tempted.

    • Decided not to get greedy. Sold Feb 9 calls on PRAN for 1.50 reducing my basis to 6.81. If I’m called out my profit will be 2.19 32.2%. If not, I’ve reduced my cost by 18.1%. This is a small position. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that it doesn’t tank. May add more later.

  3. Marshall,

    Thinking of adding to INTC? Down almost 7.5% since last week. I’m personally getting real close to adding some $27 calls and selling some $23 puts for the July expiration.

    • Md – it is tempting, but I will not be adding. It is more a function of my total invested position being as large as I want right now. Until I pare back some recent adds like fgl and riom, I will stand pat.

  4. I added a small position of SPXU at $15.56. My only concern with this play right now is if the S&P 500 bounces back above the 20 day MA before the end of the day. Otherwise, I think we are seeing a correction starting here.

  5. Curious what people do to determine how correlated a given investment is to say the S&P 500?

    • John,

      Just check the Beta. Almost every online brokerage provides it, and Yahoo Finance provides it for free. It’s almost always calculated against the S&P 500 unless otherwise stated.

Leave a Reply

