Buy ProShares Short MSCI Emerging Markets (EUM)   3 comments

With emerging markets, especially China, showing some sensitivity to the Federal Reserve’s QE tapering recently, I decided the ProShares Short MSCI Emerging Markets (EUM) is a good buy for the next few months. Holding it for that long a period, I didn’t want a leveraged etf, and EUM is perfect for this play.

At this point, I have a price target of $32 (near the 52 week high) on EUM, although it could surpass this if things get uglier than I expect.

I added EUM to my IRA at $27.54.

Posted February 27, 2014 by edmcgon in Portfolio Moves

3 responses to “Buy ProShares Short MSCI Emerging Markets (EUM)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ed,

    To me the picture is to mixed on China right now to short. Same with some other emerging markets. Seems a lot of downside was priced in the last few months already and not much left to the downside.

    • I would agree. Weekly chart does not look bad, although technicals are starting to show weakness. Daily chart is weak. I don’t see any rush to buy this one.

  2. I just reviewed a couple of Emerging Market Funds I owned two to five years ago: EEM, VWO, SCHE, MSF, etc. In a broad stoke review it appears most dropped and hit a low around 2/1/14 but have bounced back 10% by mid-Feb. and just trading sideway since mid-Feb.

    All would have to move up more before I would buy but at the same time I wouldn’t go short at this time.

    Good luck, Ed.

Leave a Reply

