March 17th: Ed’s Daily IRA Summary   7 comments

Not much to report here:

EUM: -0.32 to $27.99 ( -1.13% , 1.63% overall)– bought at $27.54

OVERALL: -0.02%

Posted March 17, 2014 by edmcgon in Open Thread, Portfolio

7 responses to “March 17th: Ed’s Daily IRA Summary

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Came across this article and found it interesting: http://www.scmp.com/business/article/1449522/long-suffering-stock-market-investors-shanghaied

    “It is remarkable that China’s major stock market index should continue to perform so poorly. The Shanghai Composite is now back where it was 13 years ago, indicating that investors have since seen no return whatsoever in the average value of the stocks they hold.”

  2. http://www.bloombergview.com/articles/2014-03-17/is-yahoo-s-business-worth-less-than-nothing

    Ed, know you were a big fan of Yahoo/Mayer and then sold. Another reason your sell was a good sell; maybe.

    • Latetom,
      I must admit, the only thing I use Yahoo for now is their financial page, and even that has been acting oddly lately. Yahoo is only a few mistakes away from proving the market’s valuation.

    • I’m using yahoo mail. But I’m really thinking about switching to my gmail completely. I liked yahoo, the had tabs. Now they are a gmail-clone, a very bloated slow gmail clone. Everytime I check my mail, I am frustrated about the slow loading. I admit it, I am using a rather slow laptop but in this iPad-age, not evey mail-user has workstationpower to load his mail-website. Gmail is much faster. I think yahoo will become one of those extinct companies. But why are they making it Google so easy?

      • plas,
        I suspect the problem is the mobile aspect. In making email mobile-accessible, these companies have to use a format that works on mobile hardware. Unfortunately for Yahoo, they haven’t mastered it yet, so they have ended up with a Google clone that runs slowly.

  3. daily p/c ratio and volume

    DIA: 1.11, 57.8K
    QQQ: 1.13, 219K
    SPY: 1.82, 1.37MIL
    IWM: 2.41, 266K

Leave a Reply

