May 6th: Ed’s Daily IRA Summary   13 comments

How many people bought UPRO today AND beat the indexes? Other than me…crickets chirping.

Ok, I admit I didn’t make much, but it is still pretty impressive to do on a solidly down day.

OVERALL: +0.03%

Posted May 6, 2014 by edmcgon in Open Thread, Portfolio

13 responses to “May 6th: Ed’s Daily IRA Summary

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. No comment.

  2. Ed, I think a good thing to look into….on a rolling 6month basis have you ever shown a profit trading these levered etfs?

  3. Actually, the market has nearly tripled in the last 5 years, but I get your point. 🙂

  4. DIA: 2.11, 32.6K
    QQQ: 1.91, 287K
    SPY: 1.42, 1.08MIL
    IWM: 2.33, 415K

  5. Ed, this here today is a perfect example what patting on you back does to you. You just got lucky, and you’re interpreting it as “skill”. Overemphasising the winning strikes makes you underestimating the importance of luck and pure chance.

  6. Folks, get a grip! I am working on a new daytrading technique, which has actually worked pretty well so far. I will do a full post on it when I am more comfortable with it.

    As for bragging about it, if I had been sitting on even a partial portfolio of long positions today, I would have taken a beating. I only have to look at my 401k for that kind of situation. So yes, I feel good about what I accomplished in my IRA today.

    • As long as you don’t loose the part of luck out of your sight, you can feel good about yourself once in a while. Good for you!
      To be honest, now you made me a bit curious. ‘Cause I think you’re taking big risks compared to the profit I see you making. But feel free to surprise me 🙂

  7. Plastro, I had been thinking the same thing regarding risk/reward on these day trades. Color me confused.

Leave a Reply

