Weekend Open Thread   19 comments

Welcome to another edition of the weekend open thread, where you folks can discuss any topic you like.

Since I started today discussing Led Zeppelin, I think it is only appropriate to finish the week with my 3 favorite Led Zep songs. But you folks know me. I like to explore the song covers, and Led Zeppelin is one of the most covered bands in history. Even Wikipedia has a whole page dedicated to covers of Led Zeppelin songs (few artists can claim that). So here we go:

1. Stairway to Heaven (1971): This song put Led Zeppelin on Rock and Roll’s pantheon. Without this song, Led Zeppelin would only be remembered as a good band from the 1970’s. Trivia: Stairway to Heaven was never released as a single, although the album it was on, Led Zeppelin IV, was one of the highest selling albums of all-time. Here is a worthy cover by Heart, although I would have rather heard Heart cover the song when they were younger:

2. Rock and Roll (1971): This song is possibly the greatest tribute ever done to 1950’s rock and roll music. Here is Sheryl Crow, doing justice to the song:

3. Whole Lotta Love (1969): I was torn between this song and Black Dog for the third spot, but I decided to give this song the nod, especially because it was their only number one single, and that was only in Australia and Germany. Strangely, of all the covers I have heard for this song, only Carlos Santana has managed to cover it well (although I will give an honorable mention to Tina Turner’s 1975 cover):

For the William Shatner award for worst cover, I have to give it to Prince. I have heard better vocals on Japanese anime:

▶ Prince – Whole Lotta Love (2002 Live) – Video Dailymotion.

Enjoy your weekend folks! Only one week until Memorial Day weekend!

Posted May 16, 2014 by edmcgon in Music, Open Thread

19 responses to “Weekend Open Thread

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great covers Ed. I forgot until seeing the televised award for Led Zep where the Heart cover was recorded just how good a guitar player Nancy Wilson is, and how rare it is to find a female guitarist in a hard rock band. There have been lots of great female blues guitarists ( Memphis Minnie and Bonnie Raitt immediately come to mind) but I can’t say I know of a single other hard rock guitar player who is a woman.

    Anyone got any names?

  2. Stairway to heaven…”Without this song, Led Zeppelin would only be remembered as a good band from the 1970′s.” What!!??

    Listen to their first and second albums released in 69 again.

  3. Have a good weekend folks. I did buy uco @ 35.55. Was hoping to here from w_seattle, wonder if he is holding short.

    • I am short with sco. I have $27.50 calls that expire next Friday. I’m in at around $27.60 and sold the calls for a buck, I believe. I’m away from the computer at the moment so don’t have exact numbers.

      • Thank you for the reply back. I guess you missed my last post a week or so ago. With you taking the covered call is this a position you want to keep using covered calls to reduce your cost?

      • Sorry Bill, I didn’t see the post. I saw a good price on sco so I jumped. I don’t worry much with this trade at this price so I will take what I can. I’m happy to be called out and happy to sell calls again on the position if not.

  4. DIA: 0.83, 57.6K
    QQQ: 1.00, 458K
    SPY: 1.79, 1.57MIL
    IWM: 1.56, 458K

    Great choices Ed. Loved each of the covers. I’m sure people will be enjoying their music for a long time still.

  5. Ed, Marshall wondering what your thighys on VIP? Nice dividend been knocked down because large Russian business?

  6. I thought this was a good piece on our current university policy of only listening to Micky Mouse type speakers.

    http://www.bloombergview.com/articles/2014-05-15/dear-class-of-2014-thanks-for-not-disinviting-me

  7. Ed, I always look forward to Friday Music Day. I have no idea where you come up with some of the covers you post and I do admit your William Shatner was a “One-of-a-Kind”. All three of the above — none which aren as good as the original — are really fun to listen to and not being a Heart fan I have to think this was one of their better cuts.

    My three top Zeppelin songs

    3) Whole Lotta Love
    2) Kashmir
    1) Heartbreaker

    I would have listed Stairway to Heaven but it is one of those special songs which doesn’t belong to a best list of a specific band but on a list of those we will all know and hear for ever in our minds, even long after we are gone!

    Heck, like so many I have Stairway to Heaven as part of my (long in the future) funeral and wake. For more on my funeral and wake’s music go to

    http://www.icantgo55.com/?page_id=227

    • Tom, that was an awesome post. You had me and the wife cracking up. That’s a hell of a way to go and I completely relate. The marching band to/from is the only way to go.

    • Tom,
      Great list, and rather thought-provoking. Mind if I steal the idea for a future post of my own?

      • Use as you please and glad to provide a laugh or two.

      • You might want to consider “In My Time of Dying” by Led Zep.

        My top three in no particular order
        1. Kashmir
        2. Communication Breakdown
        3. How Many More Times; Jimmy Page (zoso) brings out the double-necker ax on this one

Leave a Reply

