May 19th: Ed’s Daily IRA Summary   3 comments

My IRA results below also include Friday’s results (the index results are only for today):

AGQ: -0.80 to $60.87 ( -1.30% , -4.22% overall)– bought at $63.55

Ed’s IRA: -0.21%
DJIA: 0.12%
Nasdaq: 0.86%
S&P 500: 0.38%

Posted May 19, 2014 by edmcgon in Open Thread, Portfolio

3 responses to “May 19th: Ed’s Daily IRA Summary

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ed,
    I haven’t changed my 401k yet but I did put this together.

    Fidelity 401k with 19 options to chose from. Note that a few many of those options are life cycle funds
    32% ticker VSCIX Vanguard Small-Cap Index Fund Institutional Shares
    23% ticker VMRXX Vanguard Prime Money Market Fund Institutional Shares
    16.5% T. Rowe Price U.S. Large Cap Value Equity Separate Account
    15.8% SSgA S&P MidCap® Index Non-Lending Series Fund Class C

    12% ticker fxsix Spartan® 500 Index Fund – Institutional Class

    I’m up .69% for the year and 23% cash which is VMRXX. Right now I put 40% each week into small cap I’m thinking my best move is 5 or 10% small caps. What should my max on cash be? I was thinking 35 or 40% cash and spread some out over the next few months.

    • Bill,
      That sounds like a good plan. Maybe keep the small caps to 5% and move the rest to cash? If you’re still contributing, I’d start directing the contributions into small caps next month. Then look for low points in the Russell 2000 to start moving small amounts over the summer into the small caps.

  2. DIA: 0.83, 46.7K
    QQQ: 1.75, 438K
    SPY: 1.87, 1.26MIL
    IWM: 1.72, 603K

Leave a Reply

