500,000 Thanks: Ed’s Daily Summary for July 26th   17 comments

First, I want to thank all of you for the nice things and encouraging words you said on 500,000th hit post. It is gratifying to know that you folks appreciate my efforts here.

Fortunately, the markets showed me some appreciation today too:

DGP: 0.23 to $53.94 (0.43%, 0.43% overall)–bought at $53.71 (new dollar cost average of my position today)
EMLC: 0.19 to $27.82 (0.69%, 0.91% overall)–bought at $27.57
GPE_PA: -0.09 to $25.48 (-0.35%, 0.73% overall)–bought at $25.295
IAU: 0.05 to $15.82 (0.32%, 1.41% overall)–bought at $15.60
NNVC: -0.02 to $1.21 (-1.63%, -4.72% overall)–bought at $1.27
PFF: 0.01 to $39.20 (0.03%, -1.09% overall)–bought at $39.63
SIVR: 0.59 to $40.70 (1.47%, 3.43% overall)–bought at $39.35

OVERALL: +0.37%

When I get to a million hits, do you think they will invite me to New York to ring the bell to start a trading day? A blogger can dream…

Posted July 26, 2011 by edmcgon in Portfolio

17 responses to “500,000 Thanks: Ed’s Daily Summary for July 26th

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hurray for us all, and especially for our “guru” Ed 🙂
    I hope this blog will continue, I think we make a great team here (but really Ed, you are doing a great job!)

    If someone is interested in junior-miners: I’m following Focus Metals (FCSMF; CA:FMS) a while, and the more I know from it, the more I like it.
    First, the graphite will probably be more and more important:
    – can withstand high temperatures (a lot of graphite is consumed in steel-industry)
    – modern nuclear reactors (99.9%-purity is necessary)
    – production of supersand (new way of water purification)
    – many conventional and new ways of electricity-storage (Li-Ion battery and future graphene-gel among others)
    – production of graphene (future technological chips, …)
    More information on graphite itself
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Graphite
    Second, Focus Metals has with Lac Knife a very high grade of 17% graphite in the soil. In 2013 a 95%-grade processing facility will be ready. One year later, 2014, another facility will be ready to make 99.9%-pure graphite. They have a good management with a good view.
    Third, at the moment China is the largest producer of graphite in the world and it is keeping more and more to itself … looks like a second REE-story coming up.
    If you have comments on this junior, please share. If anyone is following other interesting juniors, you can always let me know.

  2. The dollar took one heck of a hit today. Another couple of days like today and investing in a wheel barrow (to carry your money) company might be something to think about.

  3. I’m willing to write a bot if you really want to get to a million hits in a matter of minutes. 🙂

    Seriously, congrats and keep up the good work!

  4. API numbers were bearish for oil and gas. Next Time it drops it may not bounce with the strength it did today. We might change our range on that note be careful if you are long crude or gasoline.

  5. So much for Gartmans prediction on corn prices:
    http://www.cnbc.com/id/43900132

    • sam,
      In Gartman’s defense, he can’t predict the weather. Although I will grant you, he should have seen this coming.

      • I like Gartman also but I am questioning him a bit. All you had to do is read a newspaper to find out 1/3 of the country is in a drought and others are under water. Here in MN which produces a lot of corn many of the fields have standing water in them becaues the ground is so saturated it has no place to go….and that was before another storm last night that dumped an inch of rain!

  6. Hello Ed,
    Congratulations on a well-deserved half-a-million hits! Thank you for ETS!

    Are you getting some Dunkins tomorrow? At what price?

    • Good morning Ed,

      I thought in a much earlier post you had said that Dunkin was one IPO that would interest you.
      For anywone interested, your thougths on when to buy and for how much?

      Many thanks, as always..

      • RM,
        Maybe a month or so from now when it returns to what a fair value would be. I haven’t seen the financials on it, so I can’t really say what that value would be. But knowing IPO’s, I know the price today is more than it’s worth.

  7. RM,
    Nope. I prefer Krispy Kreme. 😉

  8. I’ll subscribe to that writer and his future books.
    The post is well organized, reminded me about https://wolfpackpress.org/beautiful-college-campuses/. I see the author has a real knack for this
    topic. I like that theme, and I am in constant search of new bits and
    the most recent news. I truly enjoyed that one, because it
    is filled with interesting facts and it is a kind of easygoing article.
    I spent only a few minutes reading and because
    of well-structured text, I understand it completely.
    Thanks!

  9. I’ve checked out some of your works recently but this 1 is only outstanding.
    There are not many materials I would advise to be capable to everybody.
    The last time it had actually been https://erin-maloney.com. And I am going to certainly desire all my pals to look at your work also.
    Many thanks a large amount, it was actually a genuine satisfaction.

Leave a comment