February 27th: Ed’s Daily IRA Summary   8 comments

EUM: -0.14 to $27.40 ( -0.51% , -0.51% overall)– bought at $27.54
SIRI: 0.04 to $3.61 ( 1.12% , -1.63% overall)– bought at $3.67

OVERALL: -0.21%

Posted February 27, 2014 by edmcgon in Open Thread, Portfolio

8 responses to “February 27th: Ed’s Daily IRA Summary

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Marshall, You never did say what made you sell your musa? I see today it’s over $40.
    BTW How is your knee? What does the doctors think about recovery? If the drugs aren’t strong enough maybe w_seattle could help out 🙂

  2. Bill – I sold the musa post their earnings report. When I read the report I saw that the majority of their earnings came from discontinued operations. The earnings and growth on continuing operations was less than remarkable.

  3. I did go to doctor yesterday and PT today. I will likely have to wait until mid may for the surgery as I the dr said I would be unable to travel for a month post surgery. And mid May will be my first open stretch. I did get a brace that helps a lot and I can now hobble around. Pain is more dull and throbbing than sharp. So basic aleve is working.

  4. Investors who are in the 15% tax bracket and below should consider selling their winners right now. That’s because they currently pay no tax on long-term capital gains. If these investors’ securities have appreciated beyond their purchase prices and they’ve held them longer than a year, they can sell their winning holdings and rebuy them straightaway. In the process, they’ll have reset their cost basis in their holdings to the new, higher levels. Thus, if they eventually do enter a higher capital gains tax bracket, they’ll be paying tax on the difference between the higher purchase price and the sale price. Don’t take my word for it without checking.

  5. DAILY P/C RATO AND VOLUME

    DIA: 0.80, 33.6K
    QQQ: 1.38, 221K
    SPY; 1.25, 1.28MIL
    IWM: 1.81, 142K

  6. Ed, what do you think of AT’s current earning? http://www.digitaljournal.com/pr/1763921

    Would it be a good risk to buy some now?

    • Lynn,
      Define “good risk”? AT is always risky, although I must admit I discovered something interesting about them: AT has paid dividends since 1961. Unfortunately, their dividend moves all over the place. At this point, their dividend payout ratio is at least reasonable, at 53%.

      Honestly, I don’t like their financials or forward guidance. They aren’t terrible, but they are shrinking financially. On the other hand, they might turn things around, because a lot of their costs are aimed at paying down debt or improving efficiency. Whether this gets them to a “happy place” remains to be seen. AT is a gamble right now. If you decide to roll the dice, keep any positions extra small. Treat AT like you would treat a penny stock.

Leave a comment